Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (COCI)

The Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (COCI) is a consultative body of the Consortium, whose objective is to advise on the PLOCAN scientific activities, programs and plans, as well as to propose future actions that may improve the quality and scope of the activities, and to configure and propose the offer for external scientists to the platform.

COCI was constituted in its first meeting, held in Madrid on November 6th, 2009. It is composed by recognized international prestige members in the fields related to the objectives and activities of the Consortium. Its members were proposed by each of the institutions represented at the Consortium, and appointed by the Strategic Council.

Chair person

Gerold Wefer. Professor, Bremen University.


Antonio Fernández. Director, Institute of Animal Health, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
Begoña Pérez Gómez. Head of Harbor Oceanography Department (Physical Environment Area), Puertos del Estado.
Christopher Barnes. Professor, School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria.
Eleanor Frajka-Williams. Principal Research Scientist, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton.
Henry F Jeffrey. Senior Lecturer,  School of Engineering, University of Edinburgh.
Lidia Esther Robaina. Professor, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
María Luisa Castaño. Advisor to the Director General, Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas, Medioambientales y Tecnológicas (CIEMAT).
Monica Aguado Alonso. Director of the Grid Integration Department, CENER.
Ulf Riebesell. Head of research unit, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel.